About Leah

I’m back!

Happy 2017! I’m just twenty or so days behind the rest of the world.. 🙂 c5ad4eca6a7b625c3a94e42896095537

I have obviously been on a bit of a hiatus for the last few months here on the blog (though I have still been active on Twitter and Goodreads), and I just wanted to explain my absence. 2016, particularly the end of the year, was very hard. Almost everyone I know has been battling some sort of personal issue while also dealing with the volatile atmosphere the country has taken the last couple months. For me personally, my anxiety has been at an all time high between general work and every day stress and not being able to to escape all of the negativity around me. Everywhere you look- TV, Twitter, Facebook, the news- is doom and gloom and has been focusing on all of the things going wrong, so it has been very hard to find and concentrate on the good things. Even formerly innocuous places like book Twitter have been a battle ground of various issues that have divided the reading community. Many of my friends have pulled back from their Twitter presence because of all the animosity and how lately it is hard to tell what will set off one group or another. Because of all this, I have pulled back as well. I told myself that I was going to take a break from blogging and the book community as a whole to focus more on why I started this– because I love reading.

Out of the blue yesterday, I received an email from a publisher with an awesome opportunity all because an author read the review I wrote for her upcoming book and loved it. It made me remember that the reason I started blogging was because I wanted to share my love of reading and also because, frankly, it is cathartic to pour my heart out in my little corner of the Internet. Blogging has given me so many amazing opportunities and connections that I would never have been able to have if I wasn’t apart of this community. I feel like my head has been lifted from the dark cloud it was in. Just one small affirmation helped me see reason and gave me motivation to continue doing what I love. Sometimes it really does take one small thing to change another person’s day because you really don’t know what they are going through. With all that being said, I am going to officially declare my hiatus over and do my best to get back to blogging on a regular basis. I really want to thank y’all for sticking with me through all of this. There have been a lot of changes over the past year including leaving my old blog and starting Bumblebee Books, and so many of you guys have stuck by my side and have constantly supported me. Because of that, I would love to use my first post of the new year to feature some of my favorite blogs and people, my Direwolf Pack. 🙂 Take a peek and go show them some love! Something as small as leaving a comment or liking a post could completely turn someone’s day around.

Allison- abookishalli.com
Aly- ofwonderland.com
Arys- readeatlove.com
Austine- novelknight.com
CJ- sarcasmandlemons.com
Emily- redhousebooks.blogspot.com
Erin and Jennie- booklovingnut.com
Fallon- seeingdoubleinneverland.blogspot.com
Katie- papertrailya.co.uk
Liz- consumedbybooks.com
Morgan- takemeawaytoagreatread.com
Sabrina- forestofwordsandpages.com
Tracy- cornerfolds.com

-Leah

Leave a Reply

