Book Reviews

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

*Originally posted on Southern Bred, Southern Read Blog on 01/05/15*

Maybe Someday starts with Sydney finding out on her birthday that her boyfriend of two years and her best friend have been sleeping together. She walks in and punches them both in the face and promptly packs up all her stuff and dips. When she’s sitting on the curb with all her luggage in the pouring rain, she is texting her neighbor Ridge and he asks if she wants to come up to his apartment and wait while her cab comes. She flips him off and continues to sit in the rain. At this point, I didn’t know what to expect from this book. I thought oh great this is going to follow the same format of all the books I’ve read lately where the main girl falls in love with a jerk guy but he isn’t really a jerk just has a tortured past blah blah blah blah.

I couldn’t have been more wrong. This book was AMAZING. I’m not exaggerating when I say it is on my all time favorite book list. I read the whole thing in about three hours because I just couldn’t put it down. I was so captivated by Sydney and Ridge’s story that I had to know what happened. The ending of this book is perfect. Absolutely perfect. It is so sweet and will bring happy tears to your eyes because it is exactly what you need after going on this emotional roller coaster. Unfortunately, I have to be pretty vague about the plot because I don’t want to give away any of the BIG spoilers that happen. There is a twist about Ridge that I didn’t see coming. Completely threw me (and Sydney) for a loop.

You say it’s wrong, but it feels right
You cut me loose, then hold on tight
Words unfinished, like our song
Nothing good can come this way
Lines are drawn, but then they fade
For her I bend, for you I break
And if I can’t be yours now
I’ll wait here on this ground
Til you come, til you take me away
Maybe someday
Maybe someday

I love all of the characters. Every single one of them. Even Tori and Hunter because without them both being complete Ds, Sydney would have never gotten where she did. Even the supporting characters like Warren and Bridgette are awesome in their own way. Sydney is SUCH a realistic character. The choices she makes, the things she thinks, and how she feels are so similar to what I felt as well. My favorite thing about her is that no matter what, she wants to keep her integrity. That is the most important thing to her. Even when temptation is whispering in her ear, she reminds herself that she won’t be that girl. Ridge is amazing. He isn’t at all what I expected. Even after everything happens, I don’t blame him and I felt like he handled what happened the best way possible. The heart wants what the heart wants. I love Maggie too. I love how awesome she is and the choices that she makes and how she is just such a good person. My heart broke for each of the characters at some point, but by the end I was crying tears of joy because everyone got what they needed.

I want to be your end
But you gotta let it begin
So won’t you
Won’t you let it begin
So won’t you
Won’t you just say when

I just can’t say enough good things about Maybe Someday. My grandma always used to say that whatever you do on New Year’s Day sets the pace for the rest of your year. If that is true then I am going to have a killer book year. Maybe Someday set the bar SO high for all the rest of the books I will read after it. This is my absolute favorite Colleen Hoover book, and it is in my top ten favorite books that I’ve ever read. It is an absolutely must read. There is also a soundtrack that goes with the book, so definitely check that out. The songs will make you feel all the feels again because you get to relive what is happening with Sydney and Ridge through the music. Perfection.

BTW- After you finish Maybe Someday, there is also a novella that focuses on Bridgette and Warren called Maybe Not. I haven’t read it yet, but it is on my short list of things to do.I just don’t want this story to ever end.

5/5 stars

-Leah

Leave a Reply

