Monday Musings

Monday Musings: Why I Read YA

I get asked a lot (probably more than any other book question) why I read YA since I’m an adult. That or I’ll be on the receiving end of a snide comment from someone saying that they read ADULT books. 

Guess what guys, as long as you are reading, I don’t think it is anyone’s business what you are reading. So many people tell me that they “haven’t read a book since high school” or something similar and it makes me so sad. If you like reading Middle Grade, Young Adult, New Adult, Adult Fiction, Erotica, Non-Fiction, etc. then read those books! Don’t let anyone make you feel bad for your book choices. 

For me personally, I love reading about characters that are 16-25 because that’s an area of life I can identify with most. I’ll be 27 this year, but I very much have Peter Pan Syndrome. Why should I have to stop reading YA books just because I’m an adult? What is the age limit? Now that you are over 21, you can only read Adult Fiction? Nahhhh. 

When I go to book festivals, I am never the oldest person there. People of all age love YA books because of their fantastic characters and captivating plot lines. I’ve met people that are older than my parents that love the same books that I do. That’s the thing about the book community, we are accepting. You love reading? Great! Let’s talk about books!

So if you have every been on the receiving end of these comments or any kind of comment trying to make you feel bad about your book choices, don’t let them get you down. You are doing what makes you happy and that’s all that matters. Fangirls (and boys) unite!

Are you an adult that reads YA? Have you ever had someone ask you why you read YA? I’d love to hear how you handle it!

-Leah 

Leave a Reply

