Monday Musings

Monday Musings

Monday Musings

Happy Monday, everyone! It was really hard to get out of bed this morning coming off of a four day weekend. I wanted nothing more than to curl up in bed with The Glittering Court and a cup of coffee and waste the day away. Is is the weekend yet?

Since I had to scramble last week to clean my house before my family came into town, I was faced with dealing with the stacks of books I have sitting everywhere. It got me to thinking..What do y’all do with books that you no longer want/need?

I have boxes full of books that I really want to donate since I don’t care about hanging on to them. Side note- I had no idea that so many people were hardcore collectors until I became active on #booksfortrade on Twitter. I admire y’all, but unless I really love the book and plan on meeting the author, I generally don’t keep my books.

I definitely would not call myself a sentimental person, so it is easy for me to read once and then pass it along. Maybe once I get my library room set up and I have more space, I will want to keep more. Right now, I am mainly trying to get books for authors I know I will be meeting at signings in the next few months because then I can get them signed. Even then, sometimes I don’t end up keeping them. For example, I got several books at BEA/BookCon from meeting authors and getting them signed and now that I’ve read them, I want to pass them along.

I could try to find a teacher that would like some YA books for their classroom, but most of the teachers I know are from my hometown. I could also check with my library to see if they would like them. Do libraries accept ARCs for donation? That’s probably a dumb question. I could take them straight to Goodwill, but I guess I would rather make sure they go somewhere that I know they will be appreciated.

Are there any teachers or librarians out there in the bloggerverse that would like a bunch of are recent released (and some older releases) YA books? If you aren’t local, I can ship them to you and we can figure out shipping. If not, does anyone have a specific place that you send your books to?

Feel free to leave a comment here or email me if you could use these in your classroom. SOMEONE PLEASE TAKE THESE OFF OF MY HANDS! I’m out of room!

I hope everyone has had a great day. I’ve had some friends really go out of their way to help me through this blog transition, and I can’t say how grateful I am for the support. Shout out to the amazing Jennifer Terry Smith for creating my new logo! Isn’t it just the cutest?

Until next time!

-Leah

Leave a Reply

