About Leah

First blog post!

Hello World!

This is my first post here at my new home, Bumble Bee Books. I’ve been blogging for about two years and recently left my former blog (Southern Bred, Southern Read) to venture out on my own. I’m excited, though a bit nervous, to start this journey on my own, but I love the book community so much that I knew I couldn’t give it up.

I decided to create Bumble Bee Books because I recently got a tattoo of a bumble bee on my finger inspired by Me Before You by JoJo Moyes. It is one of my favorite books of all time and every time I look down at my hand I have a reminder of Will and Lou and my duty to live my life boldly. I love the book so much and cannot recommend it enough.

image1

Let me tell you a little bit about myself to start off. I live in Charleston, SC, with my husband and three fur children (who you will meet soon enough since they love to jump in my book photos). I work for a logistics firm by day and a reader/blogger by night. I am an avid reader (averaging about 100 books per year) and I almost exclusively read YA. Occasionally I will read Adult Fiction or NA, but I mostly stick with YA contemporary or YA fantasy. I’m a firm believer that you are never too old to read YA!

I didn’t really get really involved with reading until my mid-twenties. I read Harry Potter and Twilight when they came out, but then I didn’t read for a long time. When The Hunger Games came out, I devoured the series in a weekend and have since been pretty insatiable when it comes to books. Of course I go through phases where I can’t get enough books and then will go through a phase where all I want is to just watch TV. For the most part, however, I read about two to three books a week.

I used to be pretty militant about reviewing. Now I care less about reviewing books and instead like having conversations about them. I really hope to use this blog as a way to talk about books that I’ve read and hopefully have conversations with others who have read them as well. That being said, I will give books that I’ve read a 1-5 star rating based on my thoughts.

I have a massive TBR list, so I also plan on using this blog as a way to keep myself accountable for the books that I need to read. I’m also planning on turning one of my spare bedrooms into a library soon, so stay tuned for that! I’m really excited to get started on it, and I know my husband is really excited for me to get all of my stacks of books in one central location.

I will be slowly moving some of my old reviews from my former blog over here, so be on the look out for some reviews of older books that I read a while ago.

I haven’t gotten everything set up yet, but I will be setting up a Twitter and Instagram for the blog. For now, I can be reached at bumblebeebookblog@gmail.com.

I have family in town this weekend, so blogging must be put to the side for now. Hopefully here soon I will have a beautiful design for this site! If there is anyone out there in the bloggerverse that does headers, please send me an email. I would love to talk custom headers with you!

Until next time.

-Leah

 

One thought on “First blog post!

Leave a Reply

